
WORKERS’ 
COMPENSATION
PROTECTING YOUR WORKFORCE AND YOUR BUSINESS



DISCLOSURES

• I do not work for Montana State Fund or any other insurer

• I am not a lawyer or claims adjuster

• Every claim is fact specific
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PRESENTATION OUTLINE

• Workers’ Compensation Insurance
• Uninsured Employers Fund
• Montana’s Public Policy
• Extra Territorial Agreements
• Course and Scope of Employment
• Reporting Requirements
• How to File a Claim
• Benefits Provided

• New Presumptive Firefighter Law
• 5yr Closure Rule
• Benefit Dispute Resolution
• Stay at Work/Return to Work
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WORKER’S COMPENSATION INSURANCE
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• Workers’ Comp insurance – MANDATORY if you have employees
• Includes undocumented workers, minors, part-time or full-time (MCA 39-71-118)

• Not intended to make injured worker whole

• WC is ONLY remedy available to injured workers - cannot sign away their rights –
bound by Exclusive Remedy Principle

• Goal: Provide benefits to workers injured on the job and death benefits to 
families of workers killed on the job

The Workers’ Compensation Act (MCA 39-71-105)

• No Fault System - Eliminates the need to determine who is at fault
• Ensures workers who are injured or suffer occupational disease will have 

benefits to assist their recovery
• Limits employer’s liability to their injured workers
• Protects employers from costly and unpredictable lawsuits



EXEMPT EMPLOYMENT (MCA 39-71-401) 
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Most Common:
• Household or domestic employment
• Dependent member or spouse of an employer

Others:
• Freelance correspondent, newspaper carrier
• Licensed cosmetologists and barbers
• Official, timer, referee, umpire, or judge, at an amateur-athletic event
• Companionship services or respite care
• Real estate or insurance salesperson paid solely by commission
• Service performed by an ordained, commissioned or licensed minister
• Independent contractor working under an ICEC
• Casual Labor (Employment not in the usual course of the trade, business, 

profession or occupation of the employer)



COVERAGE OPTIONS
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Plan 1 - Self Insurance – Must obtain authorization from DLI 
and maintain minimum security deposit of $250,000

Plan 2 - Private Carrier – Can choose who they want to insure

Plan 3 – Montana State Fund – Quasi government agency 
providing coverage in MT

• Costs vary between carriers – benefits are identical as 
defined under statute



UNINSURED EMPLOYER’S FUND (MCA 39-71-503 & 39-71-504)
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• Created to provide benefits to employees injured on the job while working 
for uninsured employer
• Employer is 100% liable for medical & wage loss

• Medical benefits are capped at $100K
• Could face civil action by injured employee as well

• Limits employer’s defense

• An uninsured employer will be subject to $200 fine or 200% of what the 
premium would have been for uninsured period, whichever is greater 

• Additional penalties, late fees, interest and liens may apply
• Possible cease & desist order issued
• Responsible for medical and indemnity claims
• Uninsured employers will be billed by DLI



MONTANA’S PUBLIC POLICY (MCA 39-71-105)

• Provides medical and wage-loss benefits to injured workers
• Return the worker to work as soon as possible – utilizing Stay At Work/ 

Return to Work program
• Reasonable and constant rates for employers
• Minimize reliance on lawyers and the Courts – Exclusive Remedy 

Principle
• Construed according to its terms and not in favor of either party
• Benefits not available for stress claims – “mental-mental” and “mental-

physical claims”
• Occupational Disease (OD) recognized with different reporting 

requirements because of nature of exposure
• Caused by events occurring on more than a single day or work shift
• Requirements for filing OD claims reflect consideration of when the 

worker knew or should have known that the worker's condition resulted 
from an occupational disease
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EXTRA-TERRITORIAL AGREEMENTS (MCA 39-71-402)
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• Montana businesses that contract with out-of-state businesses to perform 
work in Montana
• Allows employer to bring/send employees to another state without 

being required to purchase WC insurance in the other state
• Montana has reciprocity agreements with 7 states

• WA, OR, UT, WY, ND, SD & ID

• Construction industry is NOT eligible for coverage 
• Must purchase WC policy & register with DLI Contractor Registration
• Exception: Wyoming construction contractors



COURSE & SCOPE OF EMPLOYMENT (MCA 39-71-407)

• Injury must arise out of employment

• Occurs on the employer’s premise or job site during working hours
• Montana’s Supreme Court applies a four-factor analysis to determine if 

activities were prescribed by the employer:
1. Whether the activity was undertaken at the employer’s request
2. Whether the employer, directly or indirectly, compelled the 

employee’s attendance at the activity
3. Whether the employer controlled or participated in the activity
4. Whether the employer and the employee mutually benefited from 

the activity
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LEGISLATIVE CHANGES TO COURSE & SCOPE (MCA 39-71-407)

• Injury does NOT arise out of employment when the employee is: 
• On a paid or unpaid break
• Is not on worksite of employer
• Is not performing any specific tasks for the employer during the 

break; OR
• Engaged in a social or recreational activity, regardless of whether the 

employer pays for any portion of the activity
• Does NOT apply if employee is injured on paid time or whose 

attendance is required or requested by employer 
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COURT CASES EFFECTING COURSE & SCOPE
COMINGS & GOINGS: MCA 39-71-407 (4)(a)

• “An employee who suffers an injury or dies while traveling is not covered unless”:
• the employer furnishes the transportation OR
• the employee receives reimbursement from the employer for costs of travel, gas, oil, or lodging 

as a part of the employee’s benefits OR employment agreement and the travel is necessitated 
by and on behalf of the employer as an integral part or condition of the employment; OR

• the travel is required by the employer as part of the employee’s job duties

PREMISES RULE: Massey v Selensky 1987 (Montana Supreme Court)
• Once an employee has arrived at the employer’s premises within a reasonable time before their shift, 

they are no longer going to work and are in the course of employment

BREAKS: MCA 39-71-407 (2)(a) & Holtz vs Indemnity Insurance 2016 
• An injury does not arise out of and in the course of employment when the employee is:

• “…not performing any specific tasks for the employer during the break”
• Legislature did not limit the statute to short breaks; thus, it applies to all breaks, regardless of 

duration

TRAVEL: Correa v Rexroat 1985 (Montana Supreme Court)
• “It is well-established in Montana that traveling employees are not covered 24 hours a day, 

without limitation, regardless of the conduct or activity in which they are involved.  The 
employee must remain in the course and scope of employment while traveling in order for the 
injury to be compensable.”

• “A traveling employee is not within the course of employment merely by staying in a city away 
from home”
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REPORTING REQUIREMENTS
• Injured employee must notify employer or employer’s insurer within 30 days of the accident 

that caused the injury (MCA 39-71-603)

• Oral or written to supervisor or manager – NOT co-worker
• Time and place where accident occurred and nature of injury 
• Actual knowledge of accident or injury by the employer at the time of injury is equivalent to 

notice

• Employers have 6 days from the date of notification of injury or OD to notify insurer or DLI 
(ARM 24.29.801)

• Injured worker has 12 months from the date of injury to file a FROI with employer, insurer or 
DLI (MCA 39-71-601)

• Claims for Occupational Disease compensation must be filed within 1 year from the date the 
worker knew or should have known the condition resulted from an OD (MCA 39-71-601)

• Insurers shall accept or deny a claim within 30 days of receipt of signed claim for 
compensation (MCA 39-71-606)

• Reservations of Rights:
• Payments w/in 30 days w/out admission of liability (MCA 39-71-608)

• Payment of medical claims w/out acceptance of liability (MCA 39-71-615)
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WHEN ARE YOU ELIGIBLE FOR BENEFITS
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Injury (MCA 39-71-119): Physical harm or death caused by an accident 
established by objective medical findings. Harm to specific part of the body 
caused by a specific event
• Injury must arise out of work, is job-related and occurred on employer’s 

premises or job site
• Employee must meet burden of proof

• Legal standard: more probable than not

Occupational Disease (MCA 39-71-105): Harm, damage or death, established by 
objective medical findings, arising out of or contracted in the course of 
employment. Occurs over more than a single day or shift and is the major 
contributing cause



HOW TO FILE A CLAIM
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http://erd.dli.mt.gov/work-comp-claims/data-management

http://erd.dli.mt.gov/work-comp-claims/data-management


FIRST REPORT OF INJURY (FROI)

16



MEDICAL BENEFITS (MCA 39-71-704)
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• Reasonable and necessary to treat the injury or OD 

• Ensures the most appropriate medical care is being provided

• Claims on or after 7-1-2011 are subject to Utilization and 
Treatment Guidelines
• Evidence-Based: what has been demonstrated to work, not 

what they think will work
• Insurers are not responsible for treatment or services 

outside Guidelines

• Travel Expenses – Insurer reimburses injured worker for 
reasonable travel, lodging, meals, and misc. expenses incurred 
in travel to healthcare provider



CHOICE OF PHYSICIAN (MCA 39-71-1101)
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• Injured worker has right to choose initial treating physician
• Must be a physician licensed in Montana
• Treating physician is responsible for the management and 

coordination of medical care

• Treating physician may refer the employee to other healthcare 
providers for treatment of injury

• After accepting liability insurer:
• Must authorize any changes to designated treating physician 
• Pays for reasonable and necessary medical care related to 

the injury/OD



WAGE LOSS BENEFITS (MCA 39-71-736)
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• 66 ⅔ of average weekly wage (AWW) at time of injury

• Subject to state’s average weekly wage (SAWW) - $849
• Waiting period: 32 hours or 4 days – whichever comes first
• Compensation begins on 33rd hour or 5th day
• Retroactive payments if total disability is 21 days or longer
• Employee cannot double-dip

• If employee took sick leave during waiting period, may elect:
• Repay employer for sick leave
• Waive the retroactive payment for receipt of sick leave
• Does not apply if vacation or PTO time is taken



DEATH BENEFITS (MCA 39-71-721)
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• 66 ⅔ of salary at time of death time
• At least 50% of SAWW, but cannot exceed actual wages

• Paid to spouses, children and beneficiaries 

• One-time payment of $3,000 to parents of deceased worker with 
no beneficiaries

• Burial Expense – One-time payment up to $4,000 (MCA 39-71-725)



VOCATIONAL REHAB BENEFITS (MCA 39-71-1006)
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• Eligible for rehab benefits if:
• Disabled Worker – Permanent impairment that precludes return 

to TOI job AND has an actual wage loss;
OR

• Has a 15% or greater impairment rating and no actual wage loss

• A vocational rehabilitation provider develops written plan for return to 
work or retraining

• Benefits paid for specified period in plan up to 104 weeks



NEW PRESUMPTIVE FIREFIGHTER COVERAGE (MCA 39-71-1401)
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• Applies to firefighters covered under a current work comp policy:
• Effective 7/1/19 for firefighters w/ at least 1 year experience
• Presumed to have a claim for occupational disease caused by 

firefighting activities
• Disease must manifest w/in 10 years of the last date engaged in 

firefighting activities 
• Capped at $5M for each claim

NOTE: Only available to volunteer firefighter if employer elects coverage



5-YEAR CLOSURE RULE (MCA39-71-717)

• Medical benefits terminate 60 months from the date of injury or OD
• A party wishing to reopen medical benefits can submit a petition to DLI 
• Medical benefits may be reopened ONLY if:

• Medical condition is direct result of compensable injury or OD
• IW requires medical treatment to continue to work or return to work
• Medical benefits closed by settlements or court order not subject to 

reopening

• Medical benefits may be reopened by Department if:
• Request to reopen must be within 5 years of termination
• Preponderance of evidence to support reopening
• Remain open for two years w/ a review every two years
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BENEFIT DISPUTE RESOLUTION (MCA 39-71-2411)

Goal: Resolve disputes at lowest possible level - any WC dispute having to 
do with a benefit can be appealed

Mediation:
• Mandatory
• Informal
• Non-Binding
• Confidential
• 80% resolution rate

WC Court: Established by Montana Legislature in 1975:
• If unresolved during mediation, dispute can proceed to WC Court
• Eliminates expense and delay of district courts
• Appeals go directly to the Montana Supreme Court
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STAY AT WORK/RETURN TO WORK 
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RETURN TO WORK – GOOD FOR YOUR BUSINESS
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 Despite our best efforts, employees get injured
 What do you do?

 What is Return to Work?
 Assisting the injured worker to return as soon as possible after workplace injury to:

 The same position with the same employer
OR

 A modified position with the same employer
 Examples:

 Working shorter hours
 More breaks
 Performing transitional duties

 Program Benefits
 Employers with fewer injuries pay less

 Less time off work = less impact on your premiums
 Returning to work speeds an IW’s recovery
 Reduces the financial impact on worker
 Reduces physical & emotional health effects
 May reduce the risk of re-injury



RETURN TO WORK – GOOD FOR YOUR EMPLOYEES
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 Effective RTW Strategy:
 Encourages communication between employer & injured employee

 Allows a skilled and experienced employee to continue working for you
 Keeps loss of productivity to a minimum
 Reduces the costs of training new employees
 Creates an opportunity to complete work usually left undone

 How your employees benefit: 
 Keeps the employee active and speeds medical recovery
 Shifts focus from “dis-ability” to ability
 Provides a sense of job security
 Allows the employee to maintain contact w/ co-workers
 Shows you value your employee and their contributions to your company

 How to create a successful RTW strategy:
 Believe in the program – for your company and your employees
 Develop a written procedure for returning injured workers to workplace
 Designate a RTW lead 



SAW/RTW PRE-INJURY MODEL
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 BEFORE injury or illness ever occurs:
 Establish a strong safety program
 Be proactive - create a written SAW/RTW policy for your place 

of employment
 Identify light-duty positions and develop transitional RTW 

opportunities
 Report all injures to your RTW lead
 Increase awareness of psycho-social barriers that influence 

absence from work:

 Loss of contact with co-workers
 Marital breakdown and bankruptcy
 Ability to contribute to family and community
 Substance abuse and addiction
 Chronic & permanent disability



SAW/RTW POST-INJURY MODEL
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 AFTER injury or illness occurs:
 Begin RTW efforts on the first day of injury or within 72 hours of claim
 Process is triggered when injury or illness occurs in the workplace –

submit the FROI
 Stay in contact with your injured employee
 Utilize the MSF to determine if light duties are possible & make written 

job offer
 Respect the confidentiality and privacy of the injured worker’s medical 

records

 After employee returns to work:
 Regularly check with the employee to see how recovering is progressing
 Make certain any restrictions on work tasks are being met
 Discourage hazing or negativity surrounding injured worker, if necessary
 Notify claims manager if not able to accommodate ongoing restrictions



SAMPLE LIGHT DUTY JOB DESCRIPTIONS
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Job Duties: In a dealer’s auto parts department, takes orders from customers, utilizing telephone, fax & Internet.  
Checks on availability and price of parts, and advises customers.  May write up order and invoice as appropriate.

Tools & Equipment: Telephone, computer, desk, chair, paper and pen or pencil

Frequency and Duration of Tasks: Worker can set task and speed level and has the flexibility to stand or sit as 
needed

Physical demands limited to the following:
1. Frequent – Lift paper & writing implements weighing less than one pound
2. Alternate sitting and standing as needed to write up orders and enter into computer
3. Frequent – Hand and grasp writing implements to organize and record information
4. Frequent – Fine finger manipulation to keyboard and organize paperwork

No additional demands will be required of the worker without approval of the attending doctor.  Any reasonable 
accommodation can be considered.

Employer’s Signature:_________________________________ Date:____________________

Employee’s Signature: ________________________________ Date: ____________________

Seldom = up to 10%     Occasional = 10% - 30%      Frequent = 30% to 70%     Constant = over 70%



QUESTIONS

Cindy Zimmerman
Stay at Work/Return to Work
Employment Relations Division
cindy.zimmerman@mt.gov
406-444-1752
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